Finding the Goddess Path By: Sheila Santiago

I remember the first time I questioned the existence of a Goddess. I was about 13 and in the car with my aunt. I do not remember the conversation I just remember her making a comment that referred to God as “Her”…I quickly responded. God is a “He” and my aunt asked me, why? I couldn’t answer with anything other than, that’s what everyone says. That answer didn’t sit well with me.

I decided then that for me it didn’t make sense for there to be just “God” & not a Goddess as well. There had to be an equal counter part…I have ever since believed that one cannot exist without the other.

It was then that I began my search for the path I am on today.

That moment in time forever changed how I looked at religion & spiritual matters or any question’s that didn’t have a definite answer for that matter.

I have always been an avid reader of history and non-fiction; I began reading books on every religion that I could get my hands on. Back then the library was my only source of information, there was no internet available to me. I am glad there was no internet now because there is as much bad information out there as there is good and I wouldn’t have known how to decipher which was which at that age and I certainly didn’t have anyone knowledgeable enough in the subject to talk to about it.

For a long time I felt like I would never find what I was looking for, I felt lost and confused for a long time. I learned about many paths and liked certain things about each but nothing felt right.

It wasn’t until I was an adult and ready that I met someone who was on this path herself. The path of the Goddess. This path made itself known to me at a time in my life when I was ready for it, as it happens to many people when they are ready.

I can honestly say that my life has not been the same since I began my journey on this path. I have known Love, peace & inner wisdom like never before and I am ever grateful.

When Kathy introduced the idea of starting a Goddess Temple to honor the Goddess I knew I definitely wanted to be a part of it. Finding out that there is a large community out in the world who share in my beliefs when once I thought I was alone has made me want to do what I can to be there for others who find themselves on a path searching.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

