My Journey to WitchCraft – Lisa Revelt (MomWolf)

When I was a child, I believed in the wee folks, as well as ghosts. There was a tree down the street that (I swear!) had a magical door to the Otherworld, and I tried hard to look through it and see the wee folks. I had a poster in my room of a shoe in the woods with the little gnomes and forest folk residing within. I wanted to go visit them!

In 1978, I was transferred from Cleveland’s Public Schools to a Baptist school (from where I graduated after 8 years–it was K-12). Years of Baptist school and church taught me what I have since dubbed the “Fear Factor” religion (convert or burn in hell). Of course, ghosts and the wee folks just didn’t fit in with their teachings (they were demons from hell). From age 10 until about 19 or 20, I went to church faithfully. While attending in my late teens, I began to feel closer to God outdoors in my backyard than in a man-made building. Hence, my slow retreat from church until I stopped going altogether.

In the early 1990’s, I married and had my daughter, even though I had stopped going to church, we still had our infant daughter dedicated to God (Baptists don’t baptize babies). After searching for what was “missing” and reading several books on numerology, crystals, and astrology, there was still a void. In 1993, I read “Celtic Magic” by D.J. Conway. After reading that tiny book, I felt like I came home!. The ancient gods’ and goddesses’ felt like long-lost friends, the rituals seemed familiar, yet I had never practiced them, nor did I know anyone else who practiced them. I wanted to read more! At the same time, I felt compelled to collect angels. How can this be, when I’m reading about witches?

My next books, “To Ride a Silver Broomstick” by Silver RavenWolf, Scott Cunningham’s “Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner” and “Witta” by Edain McCoy took me further along my path.

In the summer of 1995, I dedicated myself to the Path, honoring both Brighid and Cernunnos. For years, I lived at home with my Christian parents (even after my husband left), so I had to keep my beliefs secret. I still bought my books and learned, yet I longed for more.

Fast-forward to 2007, when I moved out and into Lakewood. I finally got to have my dream altar! I didn’t drive, so I couldn’t go to my former metaphysical haunt. I looked in the phone book and found Goddess Blessed. Ok, cool. It’s close and on a bus line. I made a few trips, bought books and candles and other odds and ends, had a Reiki session, and met Kathy and Linda, whom I consider my sisters, and whom have helped me along my path and to get to know the Goddess and angels (whom I learned work with everyone, regardless of religious affiliations) even better.

Joining the Goddess Temple in March 2009 was an even bigger step for me. I was able to attend rituals (i attended public rituals in the past, but the crowd was too large and the energy wasn’t there) . I have met wonderful people through the Temple, attended drum circles, Reiki shares, have had several Reiki sessions (better than therapy) and just hung out at the store.

We are all students, as we are all teachers. Sometimes I still feel like I’m just beginning, even though it has been almost 17 years since I picked up my first book. I can’t wait to learn more and now I want to teach what I know to others.

Blessed Be!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

